Final Garment/ ART 204

Final Project Statement

          My final project was inspired from my visit to the Fowler museum. I derived my inspiration from the beliefs behind the Zulu people’s personal adornment. The Zulus adorned what to them were the “zones of power” in the body. These zones were the head, the hands, feet and the reproductive area. The object that I chose as my inspiration was a beaded belt, and the zone I focused on was the reproductive one. I wanted to represent a strong, fertile woman with my garment, and that is why I made the lower waist the focal point of my garment. The color black in my garment detonates strength and the buttons power and armor. My buttons are not just placed randomly, for they are placed to draw out the shape of the ovaries inside a woman’s body.  The silhouette under the skirt is much fitted and it hugs every part of the body, the skirt serves to shelter’s an important part of the body. Basically my garment embodies a strong fertile woman, who keeps her zone of power protected to her self.

IMG_3064IMG_2804 IMG_2797IMG_3046IMG_3047   IMG_3038IMG_3037 IMG_3041IMG_3034   IMG_3053 IMG_3054 IMG_3055 IMG_3056 IMG_3057 IMG_3058 IMG_3059 IMG_3060

Leave a Reply

