Radical Rectangle

imageimageimage

Final Project Statement
The challenge for this last project called for the use of only squares and rectangles. From reading the article, New Geometry by Suzy Menkers, I understood that today’s modern fashion is moving away from emphasizing the woman’s body. Today’s fashion is introducing straight lines, thus creating almost masculine-look garments. As an upcoming designer I like using sharp lines, angles and shapes. But I do not like hiding the female body, for I like enhancing it, portraying it as an important monument. So instead of relying on this idea of boxy-masculine garments, I chose to play around with the connection of different-sized squares and rectangles until I could find a way to shape the feminine curves.
As any other project, there is a deeper meaning to my garments. I extruded my inspiration from my Mexican-culture, as soon as I heard this project was to include only rectangles and squares. This challenge brought to my mind the wardrobe of ancient Meso-American civilizations. I was determined to focus on the Mayan’s beliefs and use of garments.
An important figure in Mexico and most of South America is the Quetzal. The Quetzal is a wild species of bird that traces its origins in these places. The word Quetzal means something; sacred, erected, precious, and beautiful. Quetzal also stands for liberty, for those civilizations claimed that it would never live in captivity. It was said that the Quetzal would rather die, than be held a prisoner. The bird was their “god of the air”, symbolizing goodness and light.
Some specific Mayan pyramids, are those located in Chichen Itza, Mexico. These pyramids were specifically constructed in way that the sharp sounds, created by the wind traveling through its walls, mimicked the melodies of birds. The echoes produced by the faces on the steps, also represented the spirit of the Maya. They built the pyramid, so the spirit of the species lasted forever. My overall garment included shorts which reflected the structural layout of the Mayan pyramids.
I represented the Quetzal on my garment, through the use of the turquoise colored yarn. The basic message that I am trying to share is that a woman should be seen as a Quetzal, something not only beautiful and sacred, but something immortal. I wanted to share this message through the assumption that a woman should never be held prisoner of no man, no religion, nor no society. If a woman is let to be free, she will grow and blossom. Thus if she is never captivated, her spirit will live forever.

Leave a Reply

