Portfolio

Blood, Power, and Soul
Project 4 Mood Board

Depictions of my Own Self-Awareness

If there is one thing I have come to realize this past year, is that everything I do is strictly connected to everything I feel. As a neurotic who relies on all sorts of emotions and no logic, I let myself go every time I start a new project. Thus allowing myself to turn fashion into an anti-hypothesized art. And it all comes back to me as an artist, for an artist makes what he is. I use fashion as a tool of expressing myself when I cannot find the right words to do so. All my garments are simply a mirror image of what I have gone through, what I feel like inside, and what is yet to come for me.

Beautiful Knowledge

As pure as the sun, and as hidden as the moon,
her knowledge was.

She hid it from the world, with no malicious intent.
She just could’t bear loosing the only thing that
truly belonged to her.

She hid it with such grace and serenity,
so that no would would ever speculate her diluting away.

Blood, Power, and Soul6

IMG_6514

IMG_6744
Collaborative Project with Candi Corona and Jackie Lee

Project Inspiration

We derived our inspiration from the Mayan’s use of repetition. Like many ancient cultures, the Mayan believed in different cycles of life. Their use of repletion was seen not only in their living beliefs but also in their art. They used a lot of patterns that were constantly being repeated, over and over again to resemble a deeper idea. Thus, in our garment we utilized the process of braiding as a form of repetition. The spiraling of the braid itself around the body represents the Mayan calendar’s cycles and the astronomical influence. The purpose of our piece not covering the entire body is to symbolize the Mayan’s use of light and shadow. The Mayan resembled life and death through the use of light and shadow. The braid represents the shadow, for it is dark and mysterious. On the other hand, the body represents light as well as life. Our architectural design is not meant to be perceived as a garment, but rather as a piece of art.

IMG_6502

IMG_6503

IMG_6508

Life; A never-ending cycle.

Confused? I am confused. My garment is confused. The pleats in my garment resemble the different paths that life offers us. The angles in my garment depict a sense of confusion in my garment, as if my confusion had bled into it making it a mere reflection of my soul. Life blesses us with many opportunities, which start off very little, like a little seed. But sooner or later that seed grows and grows until it blossoms. There’s always a new beginning in life, but every beginning is moving towards an end. An end that sometimes we do not have control over, it comes and hits us when we least expect it. But every end, ends with an open space, letting bigger and bigger things come into your life. There is a sense of loss, but an amplitude sense of hope as if it were leading to another beginning. Life is a cycle, a contradicting phrase. It gives us what we need when we don’t want it, and it takes what we want when we feel like we need it. The use of the different fabrics in my garment symbolizes that contradiction. Yes, no. Black or white. Ying versus Yang. Half of my garment is holding on, but half is letting go. Part of it is assertive, while the hidden part is confused. My garment is I, and I am my garment.

Blood, Power, and Soul7

IMG_6715

IMG_6856

Leave a Reply

